It is very simple. The contests are ordered by importance in the world and area, number of samples, number of countries and impact in major consuming areas of the world.
Each contest has a score, where Mario Solinas is the number 1, (10) points. Then the remaining contests have the following scores:

  • 10.00 (1 contest)
  • 9.00 (6 contest)
  • 8.00 (6 contests)
  • 7.00 (5 contests)
  • 6.50 (5 contests)
  • 6.00 (6 contests)
  • 5.00 (5 contests)

Each award level is equal in all contests.

  • The first places have 8.00 points or equivalent
  • The second place 6.50
  • The third level 5.00
  • And the following levels go down by 1 point each.
  • The “Special Prizes award one (1) additional point. And if these are separated into categories, they go down 0.25 per level (Gold (1), Silver (0.75), Bronze (0.50))
  • The "Regional Awards" (Example: Best PDO in Spain) award an additional half (0.50) point. And if these are separated into categories, they drop 0.10 per level
  • EVOO's that have more than one prize in the same contest, the prize with the lowest score will be considered as a special prize with the consequent score (1 points or less)

Then, the score of the contest is multiplied by the score of the award and so the final result of the score obtained by each EVOO in each competition and these scores are added to the scores obtained by the same EVOO in other contests. Thus the total score of the year is obtained.

The EVOO of the Year awards are obtained with 160 accumulated points and a diploma that is printed on the Internet and can be used freely.


Copyright © 2010 WREVOO. All Rights Reserved